Yanagiba

These Japanese knives are mainly used to slice boneless fish fillets for sashimi and sushi dishes. The Yanagiba's narrow blade and relatively sharp angle are features that greatly reduce the effort required to cut the ingredients. As with Sujihiki, the long blade allows you to cut the fish in one movement from heel to tip.

 

The combination of the cutting technique, the acute angle of the blade and the cutting edge reduces cellular damage to the cutting surface. This is especially important for dishes where the fish is eaten raw, as it helps preserve the original flavor and texture of the fish.

 

 

Yanagiba roughly translates into English as "willow-leaf blade", a comparison which perfectly describes the long and thin blade of the leaf-shaped knife. Likewise, the knife is sometimes also called Shobu, because the blade resembles the lance-shaped leaves of the iris.

 

 

There are a variety of regional and task-specific variations of the Yanagiba, including Fuguhiki, Kiritsuke Yanagiba, Takohiki, and Sakimaru Takohiki. However, the leaf-shaped Yanagiba, native to the Kansai (Ōsaka) region of Japan, is the most commonly used.

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

412 Rue Gilford

Montréal, Québec, Canada

H2J 1N2

MONDAY TO FRIDAY
10 AM - 5 PM

 

SATURDAY:  
ON CALL

 

SUNDAY: 
CLOSE

ABOUT STAYSHARP

StaySharp is the benchmark in Montreal for the attraction of Japanese knives and the sharpening service on whetstone

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Yanagiba

Ces couteaux japonais sont principalement utilisés pour trancher les filets de poissons désossés pour les plats de sashimi et de sushi. La lame étroite et l'angle relativement aigu du Yanagiba sont des caractéristiques qui réduisent considérablement l'effort requis pour couper les ingrédients. Comme pour le Sujihiki, la longue lame permet de couper le poisson en un seul mouvement du talon à la pointe.

 

La combinaison de la technique de coupe, de l'angle aigu de la lame et du tranchant réduit les dommages cellulaires à la surface de coupe. Ceci est particulièrement important pour les plats où le poisson est mangé cru, car il aide à préserver la saveur et la texture d'origine du poisson.

 

Yanagiba se traduit grossièrement en anglais par "willow-leaf blade", une comparaison qui décrit parfaitement la longue et fine lame du couteau en forme de feuille. De même, le couteau s'appelle parfois aussi Shobu, parce que la lame ressemble aux feuilles en forme de lance de l’iris.

 

Il existe une variété de variantes régionales et spécifiques à la tâche des Yanagiba, notamment le Fuguhiki, le Kiritsuke Yanagiba, le Takohiki et le Sakimaru Takohiki. Cependant, le Yanagiba en forme de feuille, originaire de la région du Kansai (Ōsaka) au Japon, est le plus couramment utilisé.

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

LUN | MON - VEN | FRI:
9h00 - 17h00 | 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 

SAMEDI | SATURDAY:  
10h00
 - 15h00 | 10 a.m. - 3 p. m.

 

DIMANCHE | SUNDAY: 
FERMÉ | CLOSE

À PROPOS DE STAYSHARP

StaySharp est la référence à Montréal en ce qui attrait des couteaux japonais et le service d’aiguisage sur pierres à eau.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon