Usuba

The Usuba is ideal for cutting vegetables and fruits served raw, because the thin, sharp blade produces very little damage to food cells, which minimizes discoloration and the change in taste often caused by oxidation. The versatile central section of the blade can be used to cut vegetables into thin slices and also to perform the specialized Katsuramuki technique (rotary peeling).

 

The blade of this Japanese knife is relatively high and long, it is ideal for tackling large ingredients, such as the daikon, but it is not recommended for cutting vegetables or fruits with hard skin or hard stone as they could damage the blade.

 

The Kama Usuba has a Kamagata blade tip (in the shape of a bird's beak). He is from the Kansai (saka) region of Japan. It is often preferred to the square end Usuba of the Kanto region (Tokyo), because its curved tip is more versatile and is particularly useful for Kazari-giri Decorative cutting) and precision cutting. It works exactly like the Usuba with square end and is available in the same range of sizes.

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

412 Rue Gilford

Montréal, Québec, Canada

H2J 1N2

MONDAY TO FRIDAY
10 AM - 5 PM

 

SATURDAY:  
ON CALL

 

SUNDAY: 
CLOSE

ABOUT STAYSHARP

StaySharp is the benchmark in Montreal for the attraction of Japanese knives and the sharpening service on whetstone

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Usuba

Le Usuba est idéale pour couper les légumes et les fruits servis crus, car la lame fine et tranchante produit très peu de dommages aux cellules alimentaires, ce qui minimise la décoloration et le changement de goût souvent causés par l'oxydation. La section centrale polyvalente de la lame peut être utilisée pour couper des légumes en tranches minces et également pour effectuer la technique spécialisée de Katsuramuki (pelage rotatif).

 

La lame de ce couteau japonais est relativement haute et longue, elle est idéale pour s'attaquer à de gros ingrédients, tels que le daïkon, mais elle n'est pas recommandée pour couper des légumes ou des fruits à peau dure ou à noyau dur car ils pourraient endommager la lame.

La Kama Usuba présente une pointe de lame Kamagata (en forme de bec d’oiseau). Il est originaire de la région du Kansai (saka) au Japon. Il est souvent préféré au Usuba à extrémité carrée de la région de Kanto (Tokyo), car sa pointe incurvée est plus polyvalente et est particulièrement utile pour Kazari-giri Coupe décorative) et la coupe de précision. Il fonctionne exactement comme l'Usuba à extrémité carrée et est disponible dans la même gamme de tailles.

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

412 Rue Gilford

Montréal, Québec, Canada

H2J 1N2

LUN - VEN
10h00 - 17h00

 

SAMEDI
Sur Rendez-vous

 

DIMANCHE
FERMÉ

À PROPOS DE STAYSHARP

StaySharp est la référence à Montréal et au Québec en ce qui a trait aux couteaux japonais et au service d’aiguisage sur pierres à eau. Toutes nos lames sont fabriquées au Japon par des artisans-forgerons reconnus pour leur savoir-faire ancestral et leur soucis du détail incomparable.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon