STEEL

 

 

In essence, a kitchen knife is simply a piece of steel with a handle. A good kitchen knife is made of steel. Good steel must be considered as a base, a potential which, thanks to the forging, bending and shaping of the blade, can only be exploited by experienced craftsmen.

 

There are three main categories of steels used in the manufacture of kitchen knives. Each category has its advantages and disadvantages, depending on the use of the knife.

 

High carbon steels (traditional Japanese steels)

Corrosion resistant steels (VG10)

Powdered steels (ZDP-189 or R2)

 

But before diving into different types of steel, let's first explore the main chemical elements of steel and their effect on the characteristics of the kitchen knife.

 

STEEL CHEMICAL ELEMENTS AND THEIR EFFECT

Steel is made up of iron (Fe), carbon (C) and smaller amounts of other elements. Carbon (C) is the key steel element. Without carbon, steel could not be forged or bent. More carbon means harder steel. The steel can contain between 0.1 and 3% carbon.

 

Chemical elements:

 

Iron (Fe): main steel element.

Carbon (C): key steel element. This gives the steel the possibility of being hardened during the heat treatment process. It reduces corrosion resistance and makes steel brittle.

Chromium (Cr): greatly increases the corrosion resistance of steel and, at a certain level, increases its hardness.

Manganese (Mn): improves the structure of the steel and increases the possibility of further hardening of the steel.

Vanadium (V): the key element to increase the hardness of steel. This increases the possibility of having a sharper blade and maintains sharpness longer.

Molybdenum (Mo): increases the resistance to corrosion, it is often present in stainless steels and contributes to maintain the hardness and the power of the steel in the event of temperature change.

Silicon (Si): increases the positive effects of carbon (C). This increases the hardness and power of the steel.

Cobalt (Co): for greater hardness and corrosion resistance.

Tungsten (W): considerably increases the wear resistance of steel.

Phosphorus (P): impurity present in small amounts in all types of steel.

Sulfur (S): impurity present in small quantities in all types of steel.

 

 

YASUKI STEEL

 

The Japanese sword represents traditional Japanese crafts. Made of Japanese steel with iron sand as the raw material, the edge of a Japanese sword is well known around the world. Hitachi Metals Co., Ltd. produces Yasuki steel from raw materials for Japanese steel. In the past, iron sand with a high degree of purity could be excavated in the mountains of Tottori and Shimane prefectures and has been refined to become Tama Hagane using traditional treatment (Tatara). Hitachi further improved its techniques by establishing its Yasuki factory for the manufacture of steel. The steel is called blue steel, white steel and yellow steel in order of quality. These names are said to be derived from the fact that blue and white papers were used to package the finished steel for identification.

 

 

The Honyaki Knife

 

They can only be made by a few skilled craftsmen in Japan using the same method as the traditional Japanese saber. It is an art to work with traditional Japanese techniques, with exceptional sharpness and durability. Production is very small, due to the difficulty and the tedious process. To have a few, these knives are amazing. If you are a collector or simply a fan of Japanese kitchen knives, it is a must. Expensive of course, but when you understand the essence of the work for the manufacture of this object, you realize that the price is only fair compensation in the face of this masterpiece.

 

 

HIGH CARBON STEELS (TRADITIONAL JAPANESE STEELS)

 

High carbon steels are the preferred choice of Japanese chefs. Due to their high carbon content (C), these steels can be forged with high hardness (60+ HRC) while being very easy to regrind. Knives made of high carbon steels require special attention during maintenance, wiping them after each use, oiling the blade from time to time, and developing a patina over time. Poor maintenance will develop corrosion.

 

Japanese blacksmiths have always chosen steel with care. The traditional katana is made from tamahagane steel, produced only in the western part of Japan. Traditional Japanese steel is made using similar techniques. This steel is used in the manufacture of knives subjected to treatment processes similar to those of katana. There are two main types of steel: shiro-ko (white steel n ° 1, n ° 2) and ao-ko (blue steel n ° 1, n ° 2 and Aogami steel).

 

 

 

 

WHITE STEEL OR SHIRO-KO (Shirogami)

 

White steel is an extremely pure steel with a high percentage of carbon and no additional ingredients (it can contain phosphorus (F) and sulfur (S) as impurities). There are two types of white steel: white steel 1 and white steel 2. Forging white steel is extremely difficult and requires highly skilled craftsmen. A knife made from this steel has an extremely sharp edge, but is fragile and susceptible to cracking.

 

White steel no.1 contains iron (Fe), carbon (C) from 1.25 to 1.35%, manganese (Mn) 0.20 to 0.30%, phosphorus (P) to 0 , 03%, sulfur (S) at 0.004% and silicon (Si) at 0.10 to 0.20%. It is very popular with professional chefs who prepare traditional Japanese cuisine, as it can be refined to obtain an extremely fine edge. It has a very good cutting performance and is easy to resharpen.

 

White steel no.2 contains iron (Fe), carbon (C) 1 - 1.15%, manganese (Mn) 0.20 - 0.30%, phosphorus (P) 0.03%, sulfur (S) 0.004% and silicon (Si) 0.10 - 0.20%. It has a minimum of impurities and a very fine grain structure, so it is ideal for fine cutting tools such as traditional Japanese style knives. It also has very good cutting retention and is very easy to resharpen. Recommended for new users of traditional Japanese knives.

 

 

 

BLUE STEEL OR AO-KO (Aogami)

 

If we add chromium and tungsten to extremely refined white steel, we get blue steel. Thanks to the additives, blue steel is more durable, slightly more resistant to corrosion, but above all, it has better "kirenaga", a Japanese word for duration and sharpness. Blue steel knives are mainly used in Japanese restaurants, where the chef needs a knife that stays sharp for a long time.

 

Blue steel no.1 contains iron (Fe), carbon (C) 1.25 - 1.35%, chromium (Cr) 0.20 - 0.50%, manganese (Mn) 0.20 - 0.30%, phosphorus (P) 0.03%, sulfur (S) 0.004% and silicon (Si) 0.10 - 0.20%. The additional carbon and tungsten further improve the retention of cutting performance and toughness. This steel is perhaps most often seen in traditional Japanese high-quality single-edged knives.

 

 

Blue steel no.2 contains iron (Fe), carbon (C) 1.05 - 1.15%, chromium (Cr) 0.20 - 0.50%, manganese (Mn) 0.20 - 0.30%, phosphorus (P) 0.03%, sulfur (S) 0.004%, silicon (Si) 0.10 - 0.20% and tungsten (W) 1.00 - 1.58%. Many chefs have noted that this steel is very similar to No.2 white steel in terms of sharpness of edge. However, it has slightly higher edge retention.

 

 

AOGAMI SUPER STEEL

 

Contains iron (Fe), carbon (C) 1.40 - 1.50%, chromium (Cr) 0.30 - 0.50%, manganese (Mn) 0.20 - 0.30%, molybdenum (Mo) 0.30 - 0.52% and phosphorus (P) 0.03%, sulfur (S) 0.004%, silicon (Si) 0.10-0.20%, tungsten (W) 2.00 - 2.50% and vanadium (V) 0.30 - 0.50%.

 

It is one of the largest Japanese carbon steels in terms of performance. In addition to containing more carbon, chromium and tungsten than blue steel No.1, it also includes molybdenum. It has very good sharpness and excellent edge retention. It is also capable of achieving high hardness without being brittle. Therefore, many knife enthusiasts rank the super aogami among the best high carbon steels in the world.

 

 

 

CORROSION RESISTANT STEELS

 

By adding chromium (Cr) to the steel, we increase its resistance to corrosion. Chromium oxide forms a protective film on the surface of the steel, which prevents any contact between iron and water or oxygen. If the base steel alloy contains 12% or more chromium, we call it stainless steel. Even stainless steel kitchen knives should be wiped and dried after use, especially if you are cutting fruits and vegetables containing acids (lemon, onions, tomatoes, etc.). If we leave the knife dirty and wet for a long time, even the stainless steel can corrode.

 

Due to technological development, we have witnessed the emergence of new types of steels, which combine the quality of steel with a high percentage of carbon and the practicality of corrosion-resistant steel. Today, high carbon (C) and corrosion resistant steels are very popular with professional chefs.

 

VG-1 stainless steel

(Takefu Special Steel Co., Ltd.) is a high quality, high-grade Japanese stainless steel popular for making cutlery. It has good corrosion resistance, good edge retention and good sharpness. The hardness of Rockwell is also relatively high.

 

 

VG-10

It represents the best of the corrosion resistant steel offer. It contains iron (Fe), carbon (C) 0.95 - 1.15%, chromium (Cr) 14.50 - 15.5%, cobalt (Co) 1.30 - 1.50%, manganese (Mn) 0.50%, molybdenum (Mo) 0.90 - 1.20%, phosphorus (P) 0.03% and vanadium 0.10-0.3%. It is one of the most popular and renowned Japanese stainless steels. It has a high resistance to corrosion and can provide very good cutting clarity and good edge retention. VG-10 belongs to the group of steels called "cobalt steels", but it also contains vanadium, which improves its strength and toughness.

 

Ginsan

Known as Ginsan-ko or silver no.3, containing iron (Fe), carbon (C) 0.92 - 1.10%, chromium (Cr) 13.00 - 14.5%, manganese (Mn) 0.60 - 1.00%, phosphorus (P) 0.03%, sulfur (S) 0.02% and silicon (Si) 0.35%. It is a very fine grain stainless steel which can achieve the sharpness and retention of cut comparable to some steels with high carbon content. It has even been used to create corrosion-resistant versions of traditional Japanese single-edged knives. It is very popular with professionals and cooks. It is generally considered to be slightly easier to sharpen than the VG-10. A steel favorite in this section. Its hardness is well balanced 60-61 HRC (in general).

 

POWDER STEELS

 

Tamahagane is considered the mother of all steels. It used to be the case, or it still is when we talk about katanas and Japanese swords, but modern science produces new special steels, much more suited to kitchen blades, like powdered steels. Such steel is more advanced, harder, sharper and has something in common with the old tamahagane: they are both made in Japan! Japanese high-tech steel is forged the old-fashioned way by the same families of blacksmiths who made katanas. It is the best fusion of old and modern to produce the best knives or better, the sharpest!

 

Steels for powder metallurgy are steels often used in industrial applications which require tools capable of cutting steel and withstanding extreme forces and temperatures. Powdered steels are produced using a different manufacturing process, which results in richer chemical ingredients and a very fine grain structure with excellent metallurgical properties.

 

Knives made from these steels are rare, difficult and expensive to produce, and only the best cutlers are able to forge, laminate and heat treat them. It is a very difficult process that requires a lot of experience, knowledge and a blacksmith inclined to perfection. The steel knives of the properly manufactured powders are among the elite of kitchen blades.

 

Advantages of powder coated steel kitchen knives:

 

Very high hardness up to 67 on the Rockwell C scale (HRC) and good toughness.

Satisfactory corrosion resistance.

Easy to sharpen steel, with a fine microstructure for a fine edge and the ability to stay sharp longer than other traditional steels.

 

The most common and suitable powdered steels for kitchen cutlery:

 

ZDP-189

“Super steel” powder metallurgy. It has a chemical composition similar to that of Cowry X and offers a similar level of performance. Unfortunately, due to the difficulty of producing ZDP-189 and the special forging and heat treatment, few blacksmiths are able to process it.

Obviously these knives are very expensive.

C 3.00% | Cr 20.00%

 

R2 or (SG2)

It is also a "super steel" of powder metallurgy. It has become one of the most popular steels due to its cutting performance, excellent cutting edge retention and high resistance to corrosion. Unlike the Cowry X and ZDP-189, R2 steel kitchen knives are much more available on the market.

C 1.25-1.45% | Cr 14.00-16.00% | Mo 2.3-3.3% | V 1.8-2.2%

 

HAP-40

It is a "super steel" of powder metallurgy from Hitachi Metals Ltd. Its rich chemical composition and fine microstructure make it possible to produce knives which have an exceptional balance between hardness and its conservation of the cutting edge.

C 1.27-1.37% | Cr 3.70-4.70% | W 5.60 to 6.40% | Mo 4.60-5.40% | V 2.80-3.30% | Co 7.50-8.50%

 

Cowry X or (Daido Steel Co., Ltd.)

It is a “super steel” of powder metallurgy with a high carbon and chromium content. Unfortunately, it is expensive and technically difficult to use for cutlers. These superb knives are therefore rather rare.

C 3.00% | Cr 20.00% | Mo 1.00% | V 0.3%

 

 

 

CONCLUSION

 

I hope this article has been able to light up your lanterns and solve the puzzles on steels. I really wanted to write about it, since the choices are many and can be difficult, especially when buying a new knife. This article does not fully summarize all types of steels, it is mainly those which are currently on the market.

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

412 Rue Gilford

Montréal, Québec, Canada

H2J 1N2

MONDAY TO FRIDAY
10 AM - 5 PM

 

SATURDAY:  
ON CALL

 

SUNDAY: 
CLOSE

ABOUT STAYSHARP

StaySharp is the benchmark in Montreal for the attraction of Japanese knives and the sharpening service on whetstone

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

LUN | MON - VEN | FRI:
9h00 - 17h00 | 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 

SAMEDI | SATURDAY:  
10h00
 - 15h00 | 10 a.m. - 3 p. m.

 

DIMANCHE | SUNDAY: 
FERMÉ | CLOSE

© 2018 by Ladouceco.com. Tous droits réservés. All rights reserved.

 

 

L’ACIER

Dans son essence, un couteau de cuisine est simplement une pièce d’acier munie d’un manche. Un bon couteau de cuisine est en acier. Un bon acier doit être considéré comme une base, un potentiel qui, grâce aux processus de forgeage, de pliage et de façonnage de la lame ne peut être exploité que par des artisans expérimentés.

 

Il existe trois grandes catégories d’aciers utilisés dans la fabrication des couteaux de cuisine. Chaque catégorie a ses avantages et ses inconvénients, selon l’usage du couteau.

 

Aciers à haute teneur en carbone (Aciers japonais traditionnels)

Aciers résistant à la corrosion (VG10)

Aciers en poudre (ZDP-189 ou R2)

 

Mais avant de plonger dans différents types d’acier, explorons d’abord les principaux éléments chimiques de l’acier et leur effet sur les caractéristiques du couteau de cuisine.

 

ELEMENTS CHIMIQUES EN ACIER ET LEUR EFFET

L'acier est constitué de fer (Fe), de carbone (C) et de plus petites quantités d'autres éléments. Le carbone (C) est l'élément clé en acier. Sans carbone, l’acier ne pourrait pas être forgé ni plier. Plus de carbone signifie un acier plus dur. L'acier peut contenir entre 0,1 et 3% de carbone.

 

Éléments chimiques :

 

Fer (Fe) : élément principal en acier.

Carbone (C) : élément clé en acier. Cela donne à l'acier la possibilité d'être durci pendant le processus de traitement thermique. Il réduit la résistance à la corrosion et rend l'acier fragile.

Chrome (Cr) : augmente fortement la résistance à la corrosion de l'acier et, à un certain niveau, augmente sa dureté.

Manganèse (Mn) : améliore la structure de l'acier et augmente la possibilité d'un durcissement plus important de l'acier.

Vanadium (V) : l'élément clé pour augmenter la dureté de l'acier. Cela augmente la possibilité d'avoir une lame plus tranchante et maintient la netteté plus longtemps.

Molybdène (Mo) : augmente la résistance à la corrosion, il est souvent présent dans les aciers inoxydables et contribue à maintenir la dureté et la puissance de l'acier en cas de changement de température.

Silicium (Si) : augmente les effets positifs du carbone (C). Cela augmente la dureté et la puissance de l'acier.

Cobalt (Co) : pour une plus grande dureté et résistance à la corrosion.

Tungstène (W) : augmente considérablement la résistance à l'usure de l'acier.

Phosphore (P) : impureté présente en petites quantités dans tous les types d’acier.

Soufre (S) : impureté présente en petites quantités dans tous les types d'acier.

 

 

ACIER YASUKI

 

L'épée japonaise représente l'artisanat japonais traditionnel. Fabriqué en acier japonais avec du sable de fer comme matière première, le tranchant d’une épée japonaise est bien connu dans le monde entier. Hitachi Metals Co., Ltd. produit de l'acier Yasuki à partir de matières premières pour l'acier japonais. Dans le passé, du sable de fer avec un degré de pureté élevé pouvait être excavé dans les montagnes des préfectures de Tottori et de Shimane et a été raffiné pour devenir Tama Hagane en utilisant un traitement traditionnel (Tatara). Hitachi a encore amélioré ses techniques en établissant son usine Yasuki pour la fabrication d’acier. L'acier s'appelle l'acier bleu, l'acier blanc et l'acier jaune par ordre de qualité. Ces noms seraient dérivés du fait que des papiers bleus et blancs ont été utilisés pour emballer l'acier fini aux fins d'identification.

 

 

Le Couteau Honyaki

 

Ils ne peuvent être fabriqués que par quelques artisans qualifiés au Japon selon la même méthode que le sabre japonais traditionnel. C’est un art de travailler avec les techniques traditionnelles japonaises, avec une netteté et une durabilité exceptionnelles. La production est très petite, en raison de la difficulté et du processus fastidieux. Pour en avoir posséder quelques-uns, ces couteaux sont incroyables. Si collectionneur vous êtes ou tout simplement amateur de couteaux de cuisine japonais, il est un incontournable. Dispendieux certes mais lorsqu’on comprend l’essence du travail pour la fabrication de cet objet, on réalise que le prix n’est que juste compensation face à ce chef d’œuvre. 

 

 

ACIERS À HAUTE TENEUR EN CARBONE (ACIERS JAPONAIS TRADITIONNELS)

 

Les aciers à haute teneur en carbone sont le choix préféré des chefs japonais. En raison de leur teneur élevée en carbone (C), ces aciers peuvent être forgés avec une dureté élevée (60+ HRC) tout en étant très faciles à réaffûter. Les couteaux en aciers à haute teneur en carbone requièrent une attention particulière lors de l'entretien, en les essuyant après chaque utilisation, en huilant la lame de temps en temps, et développent une patine au fil du temps. Un mauvais entretien développera la corrosion.

 

Les forgerons japonais ont toujours choisi l'acier avec soin. Le katana traditionnel est fabriqué à partir d'acier de tamahagane, produit uniquement dans la partie occidentale du Japon. L'acier japonais traditionnel est fabriqué à l'aide de techniques similaires. Cet acier est utilisé dans la fabrication de couteaux soumis à des processus de traitement similaires à ceux du katana. Il existe deux principaux types d'acier: le shiro-ko (acier blanc n ° 1, n ° 2) et l'ao-ko (acier bleu n ° 1, n ° 2 et l'acier Aogami).

 

 

 

 

ACIER BLANC OU SHIRO-KO (Shirogami)

 

L'acier blanc est un acier extrêmement pur avec un pourcentage élevé de carbone et aucun ingrédient supplémentaire (il peut contenir du phosphore (F) et du soufre (S) en tant qu'impuretés). Il existe deux types d’acier blanc : l’acier blanc 1 et l’acier blanc 2. Le forgeage de l'acier blanc est extrêmement difficile et requiert des artisans hautement qualifiés. Un couteau fabriqué dans cet acier a un tranchant extrêmement coupant, mais il est fragile et susceptible de fissurer.

 

L'acier blanc no.1 contient du fer (Fe), du carbone (C) de 1,25 à 1,35%, du manganèse (Mn) 0,20 à 0,30%, du phosphore (P) à 0,03%, du soufre (S) à 0,004% et du silicium (Si) à 0,10 à 0,20%. Il est très populaire auprès des chefs professionnels qui préparent une cuisine japonaise traditionnelle, car elle peut être affinée pour obtenir un tranchant extrêmement fin. Il présente une très bonne tenue de coupe et est facile à réaffûter.

 

L'acier blanc no.2 contient du fer (Fe), du carbone (C) 1 - 1,15%, du manganèse (Mn) 0,20 - 0,30%, du phosphore (P) 0,03%, du soufre (S) 0,004% et du silicium (Si) 0,10 - 0,20%. Il a un minimum d'impuretés et une structure de grain très fine, il est donc idéal pour les outils de coupe fins tels que les couteaux de style traditionnel japonais. Il présente également une très bonne rétention de coupe et très facile de réaffûter. Recommandé pour les nouveaux utilisateurs de couteaux traditionnels japonais.

 

 

 

ACIER BLEU OU AO-KO (Aogami)

 

Si nous ajoutons du chrome et du tungstène à de l'acier blanc extrêmement raffiné, nous obtenons de l'acier bleu. Grâce aux additifs, l'acier bleu est plus durable, légèrement plus résistant à la corrosion, mais surtout, il possède un meilleur « kirenaga », mot japonais qui désigne la durée et la netteté. Les couteaux en aciers bleus sont principalement utilisés dans les restaurants japonais, où le chef a besoin d'un couteau qui reste affûté pendant une longue période.

 

L'acier bleu no.1 contient du fer (Fe), du carbone (C) 1,25 - 1,35%, du chrome (Cr) 0,20 - 0,50%, du manganèse (Mn) 0,20 - 0,30%, du phosphore (P) 0,03%, du soufre (S) 0,004% et silicium (Si) 0,10 - 0,20%. Le carbone supplémentaire et le tungstène améliorent encore la conservation de la tenue de coupe et la ténacité. Cet acier est peut-être le plus souvent observé dans les couteaux traditionnels japonais de haute qualité à simple tranchant.

 

 

L'acier bleu no.2 contient du fer (Fe), du carbone (C) 1,05 - 1,15%, du chrome (Cr) 0,20 - 0,50%, du manganèse (Mn) 0,20 - 0,30%, du phosphore (P) 0,03%, du soufre (S) 0,004%, silicium (Si) 0,10 - 0,20% et tungstène (W) 1,00 - 1,58%. De nombreux chefs ont noté que cet acier est très similaire à l’acier blanc No.2 en termes de netteté du tranchant. Cependant il présente une rétention du tranchant légèrement supérieure.

 

 

L’ACIER AOGAMI SUPER

 

Contient du fer (Fe), du carbone (C) 1,40 - 1,50%, du chrome (Cr) 0,30 - 0,50%, du manganèse (Mn) 0,20 - 0,30%, du molybdène (Mo) 0,30 - 0,52% et du phosphore (P) 0,03 %, soufre (S) 0,004%, silicium (Si) 0,10-0,20%, tungstène (W) 2,00 - 2,50% et vanadium (V) 0,30 - 0,50%.

 

Il est l’un des plus grands aciers au carbone japonais en termes de performance. En plus de contenir plus de carbone, chrome et du tungstène que l’acier bleu No.1, il comprend également du molybdène. Il possède une très bonne netteté et une excellente rétention du tranchant. Il est également capable d’atteindre une dureté élevée sans être cassant. Par conséquent, de nombreux amateurs de couteaux classent l’aogami super parmi les meilleurs aciers à haute teneur en carbone au monde.

 

 

 

ACIERS RÉSISTANTS À LA CORROSION

 

En ajoutant du chrome (Cr) à l’acier, nous augmentons sa résistance à la corrosion. L'oxyde de chrome forme un film de protection sur la surface de l'acier, qui empêche tout contact entre le fer et l'eau ou l'oxygène. Si l'alliage d'acier de base contient 12% ou plus de chrome, nous l'appelons acier inoxydable. Même les couteaux de cuisine en acier inoxydable doivent être essuyés et séchés après l'utilisation, surtout si vous coupez des fruits et des légumes contenant des acides (citron, oignons, tomates, etc.). Si nous laissons le couteau sale et humide pendant une longue période, même l’acier inoxydable peut se corroder.

 

En raison du développement technologique, nous avons assisté à l’émergence de nouveaux types d’aciers, qui associent la qualité de l’acier à un pourcentage élevé de carbone et le caractère pratique de l’acier résistant à la corrosion. Les aciers à haute teneur en carbone (C) et résistants à la corrosion sont aujourd'hui très appréciés des chefs professionnels.

 

Acier inoxydable VG-1

(Acier spécial Takefu Cie., Ltd.) est un acier inoxydable japonais à haute teneur en carbone de qualité, populaire pour la fabrication de couverts. Il présente une bonne résistance à la corrosion, une bonne rétention du tranchant et une bonne acuité. La dureté du Rockwell est également relativement élevée.

 

 

Le VG-10

Il représente le meilleur de l’offre en acier résistant à la corrosion. Il contient du fer (Fe), du carbone (C) 0,95 - 1,15%, du chrome (Cr) 14,50 - 15,5%, du cobalt (Co) 1,30 - 1,50%, du manganèse (Mn) 0,50%, du molybdène (Mo) 0,90 - 1,20%, phosphore (P) 0,03% et vanadium 0,10-0,3%. Il est l’un des aciers inoxydables japonais les plus populaires et les plus réputés. Il possède une forte résistance à la corrosion et peut fournir une très bonne netteté de coupe et une bonne rétention du tranchant. Le VG-10 appartient au groupe des aciers appelés "aciers au cobalt", mais il contient également du vanadium, qui améliore sa résistance, et sa ténacité.

 

Ginsan

Connu sous le nom de Ginsan-ko ou silver no.3, contenant du fer (Fe), du carbone (C) 0,92 - 1,10%, du chrome (Cr) 13,00 - 14,5%, du manganèse (Mn) 0,60 - 1,00%, du phosphore (P) 0,03%, soufre (S) 0,02% et silicium (Si) 0,35%. Il est un acier inoxydable à grain très fin qui peut atteindre la netteté et la rétention de coupe comparables à certains aciers à haute teneur en carbone. Il a même été utilisé pour créer des versions résistantes à la corrosion des couteaux traditionnels à simple tranchant japonais. Il est très populaire auprès des professionnels et des cuisiniers. Il est généralement considéré comme légèrement plus facile à affûter que le VG-10. Un acier coup de cœur dans cette section. Sa dureté est bien équilibré 60-61 HRC (en général).

 

ACIERS DE POUDRE

Tamahagane est considéré comme la mère de tous les aciers. C’était le cas jadis, ou c’est toujours le cas lorsque nous parlons de katanas et d’épées japonaises, mais la science moderne produit de nouveaux aciers spéciaux, bien plus adaptés aux lames de cuisine, comme les aciers en poudre. Un tel acier est plus avancé, plus dur, plus affûté et a un point commun avec l'ancien tamahagane : ils sont tous deux fabriqués au Japon! L'acier de haute technologie japonais est forgé à l'ancienne par les mêmes familles de forgerons qui fabriquaient des katanas. C’est la meilleure fusion de l’ancien et du moderne pour produire les meilleurs couteaux ou mieux, les plus tranchants !

 

Les aciers pour la métallurgie des poudres, sont des aciers souvent utilisés dans des applications industrielles qui nécessitent des outils capables de couper l'acier et de résister à des forces et des températures extrêmes. Les aciers en poudre sont fabriqués selon un procédé de fabrication différent, ce qui permet d'obtenir des ingrédients chimiques plus riches et une structure à grain très fin avec d'excellentes propriétés métallurgiques.

 

Les couteaux fabriqués à partir de ces aciers sont rares, difficiles et coûteux à produire, et seuls les meilleurs couteliers sont capables de les forger, de les laminer et de les traiter thermiquement. C'est un processus très difficile qui demande beaucoup d'expérience, de connaissances et un forgeron enclin à la perfection. Les couteaux en acier des poudres correctement fabriqués sont parmi l’élite des lames de cuisine.

 

Avantages des couteaux de cuisine en acier poudré :

 

Très haute dureté jusqu'à 67 sur l'échelle Rockwell C (HRC) et bonne ténacité.

Une résistance à la corrosion satisfaisante.

Acier facile à affûter, avec une microstructure fine pour un tranchant fin et la capacité de rester affûté plus longtemps que les autres aciers traditionnels.

 

Aciers en poudre les plus courants et appropriés pour la coutellerie de cuisine :

 

ZDP-189

Métallurgie des poudres «super acier». Il a une composition chimique similaire à celle de Cowry X et offre un niveau de performance similaire. Malheureusement, en raison de la difficulté de produire du ZDP-189 et du forgeage et traitement thermique spéciaux, rares sont forgerons capables de le traiter.

Évidemment ces couteaux sont très onéreux.

C 3,00% | Cr 20.00%

 

R2 ou (SG2)

Il est égalment un «super acier» de métallurgie des poudres. Devenu l’un des aciers les plus populaire en raison de ses performances de coupe, de son excellente rétention du tranchant et de sa grande résistance à la corrosion. Contrairement aux Cowry X et ZDP-189, les couteaux de cuisine en acier R2 sont beaucoup plus disponibles sur le marché.

C 1,25-1,45% | Cr 14,00-16,00% | Mo 2,3-3,3% | V 1,8-2,2%

 

HAP-40

Il est un «super acier» de la métallurgie des poudres de Hitachi Metals Ltd. Sa composition chimique riche et sa microstructure fine permettent de produire des couteaux qui possèdent un équilibre exceptionnel entre la dureté et sa conservation du tranchant.

C 1,27-1,37% | Cr 3,70-4,70% | W 5,60 à 6,40% | Mo 4,60-5,40% | V 2,80-3,30% | Co 7,50-8,50%

 

Cowry X ou (Daido Steel Co., Ltd.)

Il est un «super acier» de métallurgie des poudres à haute teneur en carbone et en chrome. Malheureusement, il est coûteux et techniquement difficile à utiliser pour les couteliers. Ces superbes couteaux sont donc plutôt rares.

C 3,00% | Cr 20.00% | Mo 1,00% | V 0,3%

 

CONCLUSION

 

J’espère que cet article a pu éclairer vos lanternes et élucider les énigmes sur les aciers. Je souhaitais vraiment écrire à ce sujet, puisque les choix sont nombreux et peuvent être difficile, surtout lors de l’achat d’un nouveau couteau. Cet article ne résume pas entièrement tous les types d’aciers, il s’agit principalement de ceux qui sont actuellement sur le marché.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon