Deba

This Japanese knife is traditionally used to clean and net whole fish, but it is also used to boning poultry and other meats with small bones. The significant weight of the Deba is desirable because, with sufficient care, the heel section is robust enough to be used to cut the bones found in small and medium-sized fish and poultry.

 

These Japanese knives are commonly used to cut fish heads in half and when used with the proper techniques, they can be safely used to remove and split crab legs for example. However, the Deba is not recommended for cutting large bones, and care should be taken, as with all knives, not to subject the edge of the blade to lateral forces which can cause cracks.

 

The Deba's column thins out over its entire length, which means that it is also possible to have a tip that is thin enough and sensitive enough for the user to feel whether it touches the bones or not. This is an ideal characteristic for a knife used for threading. The Deba's tapered blade and sturdy handle create a point of balance centered on the heel of the blade, making this knife feel much more nimble than you would expect.

 

Because Japanese cuisine uses many sizes and species of fish and seafood, the Deba is available in many types and sizes. The Mioroshi Deba (literally, filter Deba), the Ai-deba, and the Aji-kiri, or Ko-deba (literally little Deba)

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

412 Rue Gilford

Montréal, Québec, Canada

H2J 1N2

MONDAY TO FRIDAY
10 AM - 5 PM

 

SATURDAY:  
ON CALL

 

SUNDAY: 
CLOSE

ABOUT STAYSHARP

StaySharp is the benchmark in Montreal for the attraction of Japanese knives and the sharpening service on whetstone

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Deba

Ce couteaux japonais, est traditionnellement utilisée pour nettoyer et mettre en filet des poissons entiers, mais il est également utilisée pour désosser de la volaille et d'autres viandes avec de petits os. Le poids important du Deba est souhaitable car, avec un soin suffisant, la section du talon est assez robuste pour être utilisée pour couper les os trouvés dans le poisson et la volaille de petite et de moyenne taille.

 

Ces couteaux japonais sont couramment utilisés pour couper les têtes de poisson en deux et lorsqu'ils sont utilisés avec les techniques appropriées, ils peuvent être utilisés en toute sécurité pour enlever et fendre des pattes de crabes par exemple. Cependant, le Deba n’est pas recommandé pour couper de gros os, et il convient de prendre soin, comme pour tous les couteaux, de ne pas soumettre le bord de la lame à des forces latérales qui peut entraîner des fissures.

 

La colonne du Deba s’amincie de tout son long, ce qui signifie qu’il est également possible d’avoir une pointe suffisamment fine et sensible pour que l’utilisateur puisse sentir si elle touche ou non les os. C'est une caractéristique idéale pour un couteau utilisé pour le filetage. La lame effilée et la solide poignée du Deba créent un point d’équilibre centré sur le talon de la lame, ce qui confère à ce couteau une sensation beaucoup plus agile que ce à quoi on pourrait s’attendre.

 

Parce que la cuisine japonaise utilise de nombreuses tailles et espèces de poissons et de fruits de mers, le Deba est disponible dans de nombreux types et tailles. Le Mioroshi Deba (littéralement, filtreur Deba), le Ai-deba, et le Aji-kiri, ou Ko-deba (littéralement petit Deba)

STAY SHARP

T: 514-742-0182

E: info@staysharpmtl.com 

LUN | MON - VEN | FRI:
9h00 - 17h00 | 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 

SAMEDI | SATURDAY:  
10h00
 - 15h00 | 10 a.m. - 3 p. m.

 

DIMANCHE | SUNDAY: 
FERMÉ | CLOSE

À PROPOS DE STAYSHARP

StaySharp est la référence à Montréal en ce qui attrait des couteaux japonais et le service d’aiguisage sur pierres à eau.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon